三手煙:肉眼見不到的危害

2020-06-23

你知道何謂二手煙,但究竟什麼是三手煙?三手煙是來自香煙、電子煙和蒸氣電子煙設備,以及其它煙草產品在四周物體表面上匯集的殘留物。1, 2, 3  這些危險的化學物質會黏附在牆壁、地毯、汽車內飾,甚至在衣服和頭髮上留下危險的殘留物,這些殘留物在經過時間累積後會變得更具毒性。4  若接觸這些殘留物會損壞遺傳物質脱氧核糖核酸(DNA),並增加短期和長期健康問題的風險,包括哮喘5癌症等疾病。6

三手煙為何會如此危險?原因在於三手煙的持久性。一般常見的清潔方法如使用吸塵器、擦拭表面或讓房間通風,都無法有效去除這些殘留物。即使氣味可能會消失,但微粒卻會繼續殘留並仍可造成危害。7

任何人若待在曾發生吸煙或吸電子煙的房屋、汽車及公共場所中,都會有暴露於三手煙中的風險,尤其是嬰兒及兒童更特別容易受到傷害。那些化學物質可經由皮膚吸收或呼吸吸入,而且孩童若含咬或玩耍受三手煙污染的物體,也等於正在接觸三手煙。4

雖然三手煙在工作場所和餐廳等禁止吸煙和吸電子煙的公共場所已大大減少,但我們仍然面臨風險。請保護自己及家人免受三手煙的危害。凡是我們生活、工作及娛樂的場所,都絕不允許吸煙或吸電子煙,必須要完全沒有煙草。

每個人都應有居住在無煙房屋中的選擇。租屋者在租用公寓或房屋前,請先詢問房東之前的房客是否曾經在室內吸煙或吸電子煙。購屋者在購買前也應詢問之前的住戶是否曾在屋內吸煙,以免屋中仍有三手煙的殘留物。若想了解更多有關如何保障自己家人、房屋或投資的更多信息,請下載免費的英語資源指南

參考資料 renameme

  1. Thomas JL, Hecht SS, Luo X, Ming X, Ahluwalia JS, Carmella SG. Thirdhand tobacco smoke: a tobacco-specific lung carcinogen on surfaces in smokers' homes. Nicotine Tob Res. 2013;16(1):26-32. doi: 10.1093/ntr/ntt110.
  2. Goniewicz ML, Lee L. Electronic cigarettes are a source of thirdhand exposure to nicotine. Nicotine Tob Res. 2014;17(2):256-8.
  3. Whitehead TP, Havel C, Metayer C, Benowitz NL, Jacob P. Tobacco alkaloids and tobacco-specific nitrosamines in dust from homes of smokeless tobacco users, active smokers, and nontobacco users. Chem Res Toxicol. 2015;28(5):1007-14. doi: 10.1021/acs.chemrestox.5b00040.
  4. Jacob P, Benowitz NL, Destaillats H, et al. Thirdhand Smoke: New Evidence, Challenges, and Future Directions. Chem Res Toxicol. 2016;30(1):270-294.
  5. Diez-Izquierdo A, Cassanello-Penarroya P, Lidon-Moyano C, Matilla-Santander N, Balaguer A, Martinez-Sanchez JM. Update on thirdhand smoke: A comprehensive systematic review. Environ Res. 2018;167:341-371. doi: 10.1016/j.envres.2018.07.020.
  6. Hang B, Sarker AH, Havel C, et al. Thirdhand smoke causes DNA damage in human cells. Mutagenesis. 2013;28(4):381-91.
  7. Matt GE, Quintana PJE, Zakarian JM, et al. When smokers quit: exposure to nicotine and carcinogens persists from thirdhand smoke pollution. Tob Control. 2016;26(5):548-556. doi: 10.1136/tobaccocontrol-2016-053119

Thirdhand Smoke: The Unseen Danger

You know what secondhand smoke is but what is thirdhand smoke? Thirdhand smoke is the residue from cigarettes, e-cigarette and vaping devices, and other tobacco products that collects on nearby surfaces.123  These dangerous chemicals cling to walls, carpets, car interiors and even clothing and hair, leaving behind a dangerous residue that can actually become more toxic over time.4 Exposure to this residue can damage DNA and increases the risk for short-term and long-term health problems, including asthma5 and cancer.6

What makes thirdhand smoke so dangerous, though, is its persistence. Common cleaning methods such as vacuuming, wiping surfaces and airing out rooms aren’t effective in removing the residue. Even if the smell goes away, the particles linger behind and still pose a danger.7

Everyone is at risk of exposure to thirdhand smoke in homes, cars, and public spaces after smoking or vaping has occurred, but infants and toddlers are especially vulnerable. The chemicals can be absorbed through the skin or inhaled, and children teething or playing with contaminated objects will be exposed.4

Although thirdhand smoke has drastically decreased in public places where smoking and vaping is banned, like workplaces and restaurants, we aren’t free from risk. Protect yourself and your family from the dangers of thirdhand smoke. Do not allow smoking or vaping we live, work, and play completely tobacco-free.

Everyone should have the opportunity to live in a smokefree home. Before renting an apartment or home, ask the landlord if the previous tenants ever smoked or vaped inside. Homebuyers should also ask if any prior residents ever smoked in the home before purchasing to avoid thirdhand smoke residue. To learn more about how you can protect your family, home, or your investments view these tips.

References renameme

  1. Thomas JL, Hecht SS, Luo X, Ming X, Ahluwalia JS, Carmella SG. Thirdhand tobacco smoke: a tobacco-specific lung carcinogen on surfaces in smokers' homes. Nicotine Tob Res. 2013;16(1):26-32. doi: 10.1093/ntr/ntt110.
  2. Goniewicz ML, Lee L. Electronic cigarettes are a source of thirdhand exposure to nicotine. Nicotine Tob Res. 2014;17(2):256-8.
  3. Whitehead TP, Havel C, Metayer C, Benowitz NL, Jacob P. Tobacco alkaloids and tobacco-specific nitrosamines in dust from homes of smokeless tobacco users, active smokers, and nontobacco users. Chem Res Toxicol. 2015;28(5):1007-14. doi: 10.1021/acs.chemrestox.5b00040.
  4. Jacob P, Benowitz NL, Destaillats H, et al. Thirdhand Smoke: New Evidence, Challenges, and Future Directions. Chem Res Toxicol. 2016;30(1):270-294.
  5. Diez-Izquierdo A, Cassanello-Penarroya P, Lidon-Moyano C, Matilla-Santander N, Balaguer A, Martinez-Sanchez JM. Update on thirdhand smoke: A comprehensive systematic review. Environ Res. 2018;167:341-371. doi: 10.1016/j.envres.2018.07.020.
  6. Hang B, Sarker AH, Havel C, et al. Thirdhand smoke causes DNA damage in human cells. Mutagenesis. 2013;28(4):381-91.
  7. Matt GE, Quintana PJE, Zakarian JM, et al. When smokers quit: exposure to nicotine and carcinogens persists from thirdhand smoke pollution. Tob Control. 2016;26(5):548-556. doi: 10.1136/tobaccocontrol-2016-053119