二手煙及居家避疫令

正當我們受到加州「居家避疫」行政命令約束之際,一些加州居民會藉由吸煙或吸電子煙來應對這種疫情大流行的壓力。也正因如此,你及家人可能會暴露於更多二手煙之中。

現在我們比以往任何時候都更需要健康的肺部,但是當你暴露於二手煙之中,肺部就會受到損害。1  受到損害的肺部可能導致新冠肺炎症狀變得更加嚴重,2 3  即使在冠狀病毒疫情大流行之前,加州的二手煙接觸量就已經在上升,這主要來自於電子煙及大麻使用量的增加。4  如此相當令人擔憂,因為二手煙沒有所謂的安全級別5

但現在不是對吸煙或吸電子煙的鄰居生氣的時候,而是應該理解和同情的時候。鄰居吸煙的原因並非為了傷害你或家人,而更可能是以吸煙或吸電子煙來應對壓力。應對壓力會使人很難戒煙、戒電子煙或繼續保持戒煙。對於某些人來說,甚至可能導致開始首次吸煙或使用比平日更多的煙草。

如果你暴露在二手煙中,可以採取以下行動:

  1. 富於同情心。請記住,他們可能也正在承受著巨大壓力,因此更難以放棄吸煙或吸電子煙。我們所有人現在所需要做的,就是耐心、友善與支持。
  2. 設身處地替人著想。 此次的疫情大流行徹底改變了我們所有人的生活,請嘗試了解他們為何吸煙或吸電子煙。他們之所以吸煙或吸電子煙是因為擔心如何購買生鮮雜貨?或是因為失去工作?即使只是提供一些小幫助,也可以表達善意。
  3. 以「健康明信片」伸出援手。 現在可能正是應該成為好鄰居的時候,而伸出援手可能有所助益。在如此令人不安的時候,你不需要花太多功夫就能帶給別人更好的觀點,即使只是一張簡單友好的便條明信片,也可能給予他們額外的鼓勵,使他們做出健康的選擇。以下為一份「健康」明信片,其中包括整體健康及保健要訣,還有關於戒煙的信息,也包含加州吸煙者協助專線(California Smokers’ Helpline)的信息,該專線可幫助大眾戒煙及戒電子煙,而且提供免費服務。

下載「健康明信片」

請點擊圖片下載

如果你需要其它幫助以解決家中的二手煙問題,請瀏覽文章:讓自己家中不再有二手煙

更多有關新冠肺炎的文章:

參考資料 renameme

  1. Office on Smoking and Health (US). The Health Consequences of Involuntary Exposure to Tobacco Smoke: A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta (GA): Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (US); 2006.
  2. Cohen S, Tyrrell DA, Russell MA, Jarvis MJ, Smith AP. Smoking, alcohol consumption, and susceptibility to the common cold. Am J Public Health. 1993;83(9):1277-1283.
  3. Guan WJ, Ni ZY, Hu Y, et al. Clinical Characteristics of Coronavirus Disease 2019 in China. N Engl J Med. 2020.
  4. Online California Adult Tobacco Survey, 2016 to 2018. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health; November 2018.
  5. Office on Smoking and Health (US). The Health Consequences of Involuntary Exposure to Tobacco Smoke: A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta (GA): Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (US); 2006.

Secondhand Smoke and The Stay at Home Order

September 11, 2020

While we are under the California Stay at Home executive order, some Californians are coping with the stress of this pandemic by smoking and vaping. Because of this, you and your family may be exposed to more secondhand smoke.

We all need healthy lungs now more than ever. When you’re exposed to secondhand smoke, it harms your lungs.1 Damaged lungs can lead to more severe symptoms of COVID-19.2 3 Even before the coronavirus pandemic, secondhand smoke exposure was on the rise in California, driven mainly from increases in e-cigarette and marijuana use.4 This is concerning because there is no safe level of secondhand smoke.5

But this isn’t a time to get angry with your smoking or vaping neighbor. Now is the time for understanding and compassion. Your neighbor isn’t smoking to hurt you or your family. They are likely smoking or vaping to cope with stress. Dealing with stress can make it hard for people to quit smoking and vaping, or to stay quit. For some, it could even lead to starting for the first time or to using more tobacco than they would normally.

If you are being exposed to secondhand smoke, there are things you can do:

  1. Be compassionate. Remember they are probably dealing with extraordinary stress too, which can make it hard to give up smoking or vaping. Patience, kindness and support is something all of us need right now.
  2. Empathize. This pandemic has drastically changed all of our lives. Try to understand why they are smoking or vaping. Are they smoking or vaping because they’re worried about how to get groceries or because they lost their job? Even just an offer of help with something small can be a welcome gesture.
  3. Reach out with a Wellness Postcard. This could be the time to practice being a good neighbor, and reaching out might help. It doesn’t take much to give someone a better outlook during these unsettling times. Even just a simple friendly note might give them the extra encouragement to make healthy choices. Below there’s a “Wellness” postcard that includes overall health and wellness tips, including information on quitting. It also includes information for the California Smokers’ Helpline, which helps people quit smoking and vaping with personalized support, and it’s free!

DOWNLOAD WELLNESS NOTE

Click on the image to download

If you need additional help with addressing secondhand smoke in your home, visit Make Your Home Secondhand Smokefree.

More articles on COVID-19: