讓自己家中不再有二手煙

2020-06-23

二手煙,這絕不是笑話
對於你及家人來說,暴露於二手煙中沒有所謂的安全級別。二手煙有多種來源,包括香煙、雪茄、煙斗、水煙、電子式的吸煙設備(也稱為電子煙或霧化器),以及用來吸大麻的煙具/電子煙設備。所以即使你不允許在家中吸煙,煙霧仍會穿過窗戶、通風孔、電源插座和其它地方飄入屋內。

房客
既然你的住房是租屋,就可以與物業經理或房產業主合作,為該物業制定無煙政策。當地的煙草控制計劃也能幫助你教育物業經理及當地立法者,讓他們了解為社區採取無煙住房政策的好處。

你可以按照以下步驟,開始為自己和家人建立一個真正無煙的住宅:

  1. 與吸煙的鄰居討論這個問題。第一步就是與你的鄰居討論二手煙問題。讓你的鄰居知道吸煙如何影響到你和你的家人,並詢問他們是否願意在遠離你家及其他鄰居的距離或地方吸煙。
  2. 與你的物業經理/房產業主商談。向物業經理/房產業主提出你的疑慮,並觀察他們是否會考慮對你所居住的大樓採取無煙政策。
  3. 保留二手煙的侵擾日誌。留寫記錄可幫助你追踪所發生的事,並能夠客觀地討論問題。如果有人對你的投訴提出異議,你將能以書面形式掌握所有內容,並可以參考在每次事件中,你曾經做過/說過及獲得的答覆是什麼。
  4. 盡量減少進入家中的煙霧。嘗試「嗅出」有煙霧進入的地方,並要求物業經理或房產業主修理任何能夠封閉的大型漏洞/裂縫。這只是暫時的解決方法,可以使屋內的情況稍微尚可容忍。
  5. 參與當地的煙草控制計劃。你所在郡縣的當地煙草控制計劃可以經由提供教育資料、技術支援,以及在了解你的特定情況後提供協助,以幫助並支持你所做的努力。
  6. 聯絡地方議員或監察委員會代表。確認你所在地的地方代表,並安排時間與他們會面討論你的情況。提供有關你所遭遇情況的詳細信息,以及有關無煙住房政策可為社區帶來好處的教育資料。

屋主
屋主亦可按照上面詳述的步驟進行,但第三項除外。在這種情況下,你能夠以研究所在城市的法規來取代。法規中是否提到不得以噪音或其他令人討厭的行為打擾鄰居(在某些情況下,吸煙可被歸類為「令人討厭的」行為)?

屋主協會及租金管制的物業
許多房屋、公寓甚至租賃物業,都可以成為屋主協會(HOA)的一員。屋主協會的目的是為提供共同的基礎,以保持、維護和改善房屋及物業。你可以與屋主協會共同努力,以讓社區能夠採用並實施無煙政策!有些公寓及物業可能受到租金管控,如果你的房屋或物業屬於租金管控,你仍然可以與當地的煙草控制計劃合作,努力讓社區制定無煙政策。

你是否為房產的業主、經理或房東? 請在此查找英語資源。

Make Your Home Secondhand Smokefree

Share

social-mail Facebook Icon social-twitter

Secondhand Smoke- It’s no Joke
There is no safe level of secondhand smoke exposure for you and your family. Secondhand smoke is produced from a number of sources, including cigarettes, cigars, pipes, hookah, electronic smoking devices (also known as e-cigarettes or vapes) and marijuana smoking/vaping devices. Smoke can drift into your home through windows, vents, electrical outlets and other places, even if you do not allow smoking in your home.

Renters
Since you rent your home; you can work with your property manager or property owner to create a smokefree policy for your property. Your local tobacco control program can also help you educate your property manager and local legislators on the benefits of adopting a smokefree housing policy for your community.

Here are some steps you can take to begin working towards a truly smokefree home for you and your family:

  1. Discuss the issue with your neighbors who smoke. The first step is to discuss the issue of secondhand smoke with your neighbors. Let your neighbor know how the smoking affects you and your family and ask if they would be willing to smoke at a distance or location away from your home and that of other neighbors.
  2. Speak with your property manager/property owner. Present your concerns to the property manager/property owner and see if they would consider adopting a smokefree policy for your complex.
  3. Keep a journal of the secondhand smoke intrusions. Writing it down will help you track the incidents and objectively discuss the problem. Should anyone challenge your complaint, you will have it all in writing and can refer to each incident, what you did/said, and what the response was.
  4. Minimize the smoke entering your home. Try to “sniff out” where any smoke is getting in and ask the property manager or owner to repair any large leaks/cracks that can be sealed. This is a temporary fix to make the indoor situation more tolerable.
  5. Reach out to your local tobacco control program. Your county’s local tobacco control program can help support your efforts by providing educational materials, technical support, and assistance in navigating your particular situation.
  6. Reach out to your local councilmember or board of supervisors’ representative. Identify your local representative and schedule a time to meet with them to discuss your situation. Provide details on your scenario and educational materials on the benefits of a smokefree housing policy for the community.

Home Owner
You can also follow steps detailed above with the exception of number three. In which case you can replace by researching your city’s ordinance laws. Do they mention not bothering neighbors with noise or other nuisance behaviors (smoking can be classified as a “nuisance” behavior in certain situations)?

Home Owner’s Associations and rent-controlled properties
Many homes, condominiums, or even rental properties can be a part of a Home Owner’s Association (HOA). A HOA’s purpose is to provide a common basis for preserving, maintaining and enhancing homes and property! You can work with your HOA to adopt and implement a smokefree policy for their community! Some apartments and properties might be subject to rent-control. If your home or property is rent-controlled, you can still work with your local tobacco control program to work towards a smokefree policy for your community.

Are you a property owner, manager or landlord? Check out resources for you here.