餐廳的二手煙

2020-06-23

當你在餐廳的室外用餐時,若有人在身邊吸傳統香煙或電子煙,你將會暴露於有毒的二手煙煙霧1或氣霧之中2。加州的法律雖然禁止在餐廳內吸煙和吸電子煙,3  但這只適用於室內區域,並不適用於室外區域,這樣聽起來其實很瘋狂。雖然餐廳可以選擇禁止在室外休息區吸煙,但沒有州法律要求必須如此,因此許多加州居民在用餐時,每天都暴露於接觸二手煙和電子二手煙的風險中。

目前加州已有超過100個城市頒發「室外用餐和酒吧露台無煙」的法律,4  但加州居民希望能夠更進一步。百分之八十四的加州居民,包括百分之六十六的吸煙者,更喜歡在附有室外用餐區的無煙餐廳用餐。5

如果餐廳尚未提供全面無煙的環境與體驗,你的社區也許可以考慮。如果你喜歡在沒有有毒煙霧的環境進餐,請查看你所在的城市是否有室外用餐無煙的政策。如果室外用餐吸煙是被允許的,請考慮聯繫當地社區領袖以制定禁令,或與當地餐廳老闆討論採用完全無煙的政策。

參考資料 renameme

  1. Cameron M, Brennan E, Durkin S et al. Secondhand Smoke Exposure (PM2.5) in Outdoor Dining Areas and Its Correlates. Tobacco Control Journal. 2010;19:19-23.
  2. World Health Organization. Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems and Electronic Non-Nicotine Delivery Systems (ENDS/ENNDS). 2016.
  3. California Legislative Information. Labor Code Section 6404.5. leginfo.legislature.ca.gov. 1973.
  4. The Center for Tobacco Policy & Organizing. List of Municipalities That Restrict, Smoking in Outdoor Dining Areas, 2019.
  5. California Department of Public Health. California Adult Tobacco Survey, 2018.

Secondhand Smoke In Restaurants

If you are dining outside at a restaurant, and someone is smoking a cigarette or using an electronic smoking device, you are being exposed to toxic secondhand smoke1 or aerosol2. Sounds crazy, since smoking and vaping indoors in restaurants  is banned by California law,3 but that only applies to indoor areas, not outdoors. While restaurants can choose to ban smoking on their outdoor seating areas, there is no state law that requires it. This leaves many Californians at risk of expoasure to secondhand smoke and vape every day, during their meals.

More than 100 California cities have enacted Smokefree Outdoor Dining and Bar Patio laws,4 and Californians wants more. Eighty-four percent of Californians, including 66 percent of smokers, prefer dining in a smokefree restaurant with outdoor dining areas.5

If restaurants haven’t offered a complete, smoke-free experience yet, perhaps your community is considering one. If you prefer eating without toxic fumes, check to see if your city has a policy on smokefree outdoor dining. If it’s allowed, consider contacting your local community leaders about enacting a ban or talk to your local restaurant owners about adopting a completely smokefree policy.

References renameme

  1. Cameron M, Brennan E, Durkin S et al. Secondhand Smoke Exposure (PM2.5) in Outdoor Dining Areas and Its Correlates. Tobacco Control Journal. 2010;19:19-23.
  2. World Health Organization. Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems and Electronic Non-Nicotine Delivery Systems (ENDS/ENNDS). 2016.
  3. California Legislative Information. Labor Code Section 6404.5. leginfo.legislature.ca.gov. 1973.
  4. The Center for Tobacco Policy & Organizing. List of Municipalities That Restrict, Smoking in Outdoor Dining Areas, 2019.
  5. California Department of Public Health. California Adult Tobacco Survey, 2018.