加州引領無煙空間風氣

2020-06-23

加州擁有眾多屬性,使其能夠成為一個絕佳的州 – 它擁有美麗的海灘和風景、具代表性的文化機構,以及多樣化的城市和社區。幸運的是,這些地方中的大多數空間都已受到免於二手煙危害的保護。

這一點相當重要,因為二手煙被認為是有毒的空氣污染物1,每年可讓成千上萬位不吸煙的美國人致死。2  二手煙還可能導致一系列的健康問題,包括心臟病及肺癌3,對於兒童、孕婦、老人及慢性疾病患者尤其危險。

加州及其各城市及郡縣已通過一系列的吸煙禁令,包括禁吸香煙、小雪茄(或加味雪茄)、電子煙、大麻及水煙,在保護居民及遊客免受二手煙危害方面發揮帶頭作用。加州絕大多數的室內空間都受到免於二手煙的保護,以確保大家在工作、上學或娛樂時都能呼吸清淨的空氣。在許多室內場所,包括公共及私人辦公大樓、公共及私人學校及大學、工廠、倉庫、飯店、酒吧、泳池大廳、電影院、酒店及汽車旅館的大廳和會議室,甚至有蓋停車場,還有許多其它空間,都已禁止吸煙。這些州法仍有少數例外,由於美洲印第安人部落是主權實體,因此其土地不受禁止在室內吸煙的州法保護。但許多部落賭場也已採取一些限制部落遊戲賭場內吸煙的政策,還有一些甚至已採取100%無煙政策

加州的許多室外空間也受到當地法律的保護。首先,我們有許多公園海灘都禁止吸煙,以讓大家能夠更喜歡到這些地方。目前加州已有超過100個城市及郡縣通過全方位室外二手煙條例,該條例禁止在室外用餐區及各公共活動如音樂會和市集、休閒娛樂區、工作場所和人行道等地吸煙。共有數百個城市及郡縣禁止在建築物入口通道以及服務區吸煙,其中包括ATM自動櫃員機的排隊隊伍、公共交通站點、出租車站及售票排隊隊伍等各處。

雖然現階段已完成許多保護加州居民的工作,但仍有許多工作要做。根據加州公共健康部門最近的一份報告發現,愈來愈多人提報自己暴露於二手煙之中,其中增加最多的是暴露於電子煙的氣霧及大麻二手煙4中,原因在於使用這些產品的人數一直不斷加增。

加州自1995年成為第一個在工作場所禁止吸煙的州以來,已經在反對二手煙方面獲得超凡的進步。 我們需要確保新產品不會丟失這項工作,以便所有加州居民都有機會呼吸清淨的空氣。

若想了解為保護自己及家人你所能夠採取的行動,請瀏覽SecondhandDangers.org/Chinese

California Leads The Way With Smokefree Spaces

California has so many attributes that make it a great state – it boasts beautiful beaches and landscapes, iconic cultural institutions and diverse cities and communities.  And fortunately, most of these places are protected from the harm of secondhand smoke. 

This is important because secondhand smoke is considered a toxic air contaminant1 that kills tens of thousands of non-smoking Americans each year.2  It can also contribute to a range of health issues, including heart disease and lung cancer3, and is especially dangerous for children, pregnant women, the elderly and those with chronic illnesses.

California and its cities and counties have led the way in protecting residents and visitors from these harms through an array of smoking bans that include cigarettes, little cigars (or cigarillos), e-cigarettes, marijuana and hookah.  The vast majority of California’s indoor spaces are protected from secondhand smoke, ensuring people breathe clean air while they are at work, school or play.  Smoking is prohibited in most indoor places including public and private office buildings, public and private schools and universities, factories, warehouses, restaurants, bars, pool halls, movie theaters, hotel and motel lobbies and meeting rooms and even covered parking lots, among many, many other spaces.  There are only a small number of exceptions to these state laws. Because American Indian tribes are sovereign entitities, their lands are not covered by state laws that prohibit smoking in indoor spaces. Many tribal casinos have adopted some policies restricting smoking in tribal gaming casinos and a few have adopted 100% smokefree policies.

Many of California’s outdoor spaces are also protected through local laws as well. To start, many of our parks and beaches have banned smoking to make visiting them more enjoyable to everyone.  More than 100 cities and counties have passed comprehensive outdoor secondhand smoke ordinances that prohibit smoking in outdoor dining areas, public events, such as concerts and fairs, recreation areas, worksites and sidealks.  Hundreds more cities and counties have restricted smoking in the entryways of buildings, as well as service areas, which include places such as ATM lines, public transit stops, taxi stands and ticket lines.

Much work has been done to protect Californians, but there is more to do.  A recent report by the California Department of Public Health found that more people are reporting being exposed to secondhand smoke, with the biggest increases being from e-cigarette aerosol and marijuana secondhand smoke4, due to the rising number of people using these products. 

Extraordinary progress has been made against secondhand smoke in California since 1995 when California was the first state to ban smoking in the workplace.  We need to make sure this work isn’t lost with new products, so that all Californians have the opportunity to breathe clean air. 

To learn about actions you can take to protect yourself and your family, please visit SecondhandDangers.org.

Share this Article