尼古丁對青少年大腦的影響

2020-06-23

煙草商的掠奪性和陰險的營銷策略,對於年輕人來說似乎是無窮無盡的,因為煙草商不斷推出並促銷對年輕人而言討喜並具有吸引力的帶有口味煙草產品。這些口味如芒果、薄荷、草莓和香草等,可以掩蓋煙草的刺激味道及尼古丁的存在。尼古丁是一種已知與海洛因一樣會令人上癮的化學物質,1  對於尚未完全了解這些產品對於健康造成危害的青少年和年輕人而言,卻相當具有吸引力,因此也特別危險。尼古丁對於青少年發育中的大腦是有毒的,因為青少年更容易因尼古丁成癮並受到傷害。2  簡而言之,尼古丁會毒害青少年的大腦。由於大腦發育會一直持續到25歲左右,而尼古丁會對青少年和年輕人產生負面影響。尼古丁事實上會改變青少年大腦中負責注意力、學習和記憶部分的腦細胞活動,3 4  而且還會讓下列狀況惡化加劇:

  • 內心焦慮5
  • 暴躁易怒7
  • 行為衝動8

處在青春期,對這些狀況自然非常熟悉,而且也已相當具有挑戰性。這些影響結果對任何人而言都並不好,尤其對於仍在學習和養成習慣的年輕人來說更是如此。雖然這些行為當中,也許有些只是因為青春期階段,但尼古丁在青春期所引起的大腦變化卻可能是永久性的。9  尼古丁的危害可能導致對於決策能力的長期影響2,也可能使青少年對於其它藥物上癮的風險增加。10  尼古丁其實完全沒什麼好處。若想了解更多有關尼古丁所造成危害的詳情,請瀏覽www.FlavorsHookKids.org/Chinese若想了解關於吸電子煙疾病爆發的詳請,請瀏覽英文網站CDC.gov

參考資料 renameme

  1. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Health Consequences of Smoking: Nicotine Addiction A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, GA: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control, Center for Health Promotion and Education, Office on Smoking and Health, 1988.
  2. Goriounova NA, Mansvelder HD. Short- and long-term consequences of nicotine exposure during adolescence for prefrontal cortex neuronal network function. Cold Spring Harb Perspect Med. 2012;2(12):a012120. Published 2012 Dec 1. doi:10.1101/cshperspect.a012120
  3. Benowitz NL. Nicotine addiction. N Engl J Med. 2010;362(24):2295–2303. doi:10.1056/NEJMra0809890.
  4. U.S. Surgeon General. Surgeon General’s Advisory on E-cigarette Use Among Youth. e-cigarettes.surgeongeneral.gov. 2018.
  5. Kutlu MG, Gould TJ. Nicotine modulation of fear memories and anxiety: Implications for learning and anxiety disorders. Biochem Pharmacol. 2015;97(4):498–511. doi:10.1016/j.bcp.2015.07.029
  6. Etter JK, Ussher M, Hughes JR. A test of proposed new tobacco withdrawal symptoms. Addiction. 2013;108(1):50-59. doi: 10.1111/j.1360-0443.2012.03981.x
  7. Hughes JR. Effects of abstinence from tobacco: Valid symptoms and time course. Nicotine Tob Res. 2007;9(3):315-327. DOI: 10.1080/14622200701188919
  8. Froeliger B, Modlin LA, Kozink RV, et al. Frontoparietal attentional network activation differs between smokers and nonsmokers during affective cognition. Psychiatry Res. 2012;211(1):57–63. doi:10.1016/j.pscychresns.2012.05.002
  9. Yuan M, Cross SJ, Loughlin SE, Leslie FM. Nicotine and the adolescent brain. J Physiol. 2015;593(16):3397–3412. doi:10.1113/JP270492
  10. National Institute on Drug Abuse. Electronic Cigarettes (e-cigarettes). drugabuse.gov. Revised June 2018. Accessed April 10, 2019.

The Effects Of Nicotine On The Adolescent Brain

September 11, 2020

Tobacco industry predatory and insidious marketing tactics to youth seem to be endless, as the industry continues to introduce and promote flavored tobacco products that appeal, and are attractive, to youth. Flavors such as mango, mint, strawberry and vanilla mask the harsh taste of tobacco and the presence of nicotine, a chemical known to be as addictive as heroin.1 Especially dangerous is the appeal of these products to teens and young adults, who don’t fully understand the health harms of these products. Nicotine is toxic for adolescents with developing brains, as they are more susceptible to both the addictiveness and harm of nicotine.2 Simply put, nicotine is brain poison for youth. Because brain development continues until about the age of 25, nicotine can have negative impacts on teens and young adults. Nicotine actually changes adolescents’ brain cell activity3 in the parts of the brain responsible for attention, learning, and memory.4 It can also worsen:

  • anxiety5
  • irritability7
  • impulsivity8

These circumstances are familiar and already challenging during adolescence. While these effects would be bad for anyone, it’s especially bad for youth, who are still learning and developing habits. While some of these behaviors can be just adolescent phases, nicotine-induced changes to the brain during adolescence can be permanent.9 Nicotine’s harm can lead to long-term effects on the ability to make decisions2 and can also leave teens with an increased risk of addiction to other substances.10 There is nothing good about nicotine. To learn more about the harm of nicotine, visit www.flavorshookkids.org. For information about the vaping illness outbreak, visit CDC.gov.

References renameme

  1. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Health Consequences of Smoking: Nicotine Addiction A Report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, GA: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control, Center for Health Promotion and Education, Office on Smoking and Health, 1988.
  2. Goriounova NA, Mansvelder HD. Short- and long-term consequences of nicotine exposure during adolescence for prefrontal cortex neuronal network function. Cold Spring Harb Perspect Med. 2012;2(12):a012120. Published 2012 Dec 1. doi:10.1101/cshperspect.a012120
  3. Benowitz NL. Nicotine addiction. N Engl J Med. 2010;362(24):2295–2303. doi:10.1056/NEJMra0809890.
  4. U.S. Surgeon General. Surgeon General’s Advisory on E-cigarette Use Among Youth. e-cigarettes.surgeongeneral.gov. 2018.
  5. Kutlu MG, Gould TJ. Nicotine modulation of fear memories and anxiety: Implications for learning and anxiety disorders. Biochem Pharmacol. 2015;97(4):498–511. doi:10.1016/j.bcp.2015.07.029
  6. Etter JK, Ussher M, Hughes JR. A test of proposed new tobacco withdrawal symptoms. Addiction. 2013;108(1):50-59. doi: 10.1111/j.1360-0443.2012.03981.x
  7. Hughes JR. Effects of abstinence from tobacco: Valid symptoms and time course. Nicotine Tob Res. 2007;9(3):315-327. DOI: 10.1080/14622200701188919
  8. Froeliger B, Modlin LA, Kozink RV, et al. Frontoparietal attentional network activation differs between smokers and nonsmokers during affective cognition. Psychiatry Res. 2012;211(1):57–63. doi:10.1016/j.pscychresns.2012.05.002
  9. Yuan M, Cross SJ, Loughlin SE, Leslie FM. Nicotine and the adolescent brain. J Physiol. 2015;593(16):3397–3412. doi:10.1113/JP270492
  10. National Institute on Drug Abuse. Electronic Cigarettes (e-cigarettes). drugabuse.gov. Revised June 2018. Accessed April 10, 2019.