尼古丁:未知的毒物

2020-06-29

是什麼讓煙草產品可以致癮?尼古丁是煙草植物中天然存在的化學物質,除了具有致癮的特性外,還經常被錯誤描述為無害的物質,尤其電子煙製造商更會如此。所以,尼古丁究竟有什麼大不了的?就算尼古丁不會讓人上癮,其本身就是一種危險的神經毒素。首先,攝入尼古丁是有毒的,並且是所有毒物中毒性最大的其中一種。1

事實上,即使處理煙草植物葉片也會導致健康問題,如頭痛、噁心、嘔吐和疲勞。2  尼古丁在過去曾被用作殺蟲劑,直到2014年才被美國環境保護署(EPA)在市場上禁用,因為有可能會污染農產品。3  因此,尼古丁對人類有害也就不足以為奇。

尼古丁液為一種劇毒化學物質,美國環境保護署(EPA)將其列為「急性危險廢物」。是什麼將尼古丁分類為危險廢物?如果尼古丁是化學產品中唯一的活性成分,如電子煙、電子煙煙彈和煙油瓶中的電子煙液/電子果汁,則必須按照EPA規定的指導方針進行處理。4

液體尼古丁引起的中毒可能由於產品經由皮膚或眼睛的攝入、吸入或吸收而產生。5 當尼古丁用於包括電子煙等煙草產品時是有害的。

尼古丁還可能造成動脈硬化,而動脈硬化則可能導致心臟病發作或中風。5  或者你可能只有 “nic sick”「尼古丁病」,也就是尼古丁中毒,這會讓你感到疲勞、噁心、嘔吐、頭痛,以及血壓和心率升高。6

但尼古丁不僅會傷害身體,特別對於年輕人來說更會毒害大腦,會對未成年人和年輕人的大腦發育產生破壞性影響。

根據研究顯示,尼古丁作為一種神經毒素,可以干擾青少年對於情緒及衝動的控制。7  它甚至可能導致焦慮症8的發生,這絕不是任何人所需要的東西!

千萬別被煙草商所愚弄!因為他們聲稱傳統香煙的所有壞處都不存在於電子煙中,但事實上,煙草商仍將尼古丁保留在電子煙內。要了解更多關於尼古丁的危害,請瀏覽FlavorsHookKids.org/Chinese

參考資料 renameme

  1. International Programme on Chemical Safety, World Health Organization. Nicotine. inchem.org. March, 1991. Accessed April 5, 2019.
  2. Parikh JR, Gokani VN, Doctor PB, Kulkarni PK, Shah AR, Saiyed HN. Acute and chronic health effects due to green tobacco exposure in agricultural workers. Am J Ind Med. 2005;47:494–9.
  3. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Nicotine; Product Cancellation Order. federalregister.gov. Published June 3, 2009. Accessed April 8, 2019.
  4. §261.33 Discarded commercial chemical products, off-specification species, container residues, and spill residues thereof
  5. Antoniewicz L, Brynedal A, Hedman L, Lundback M, Bosson JA. Acute Effects of Electronic Cigarette Inhalation on the Vasculature and the Conducting Airways. Cardiovasc Toxicol. 2019. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12012-019-09516-x
  6. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Nicotine: Systemic Agent. cdc.gov. Reviewed May 12, 2011. Accessed February 6, 2019.
  7. Goriounova NA, Mansvelder HD. Short- and long-term consequences of nicotine exposure during adolescence for prefrontal cortex neuronal network function. Cold Spring Harb Perspect
  8. Kutlu MG, Gould TJ. Nicotine modulation of fear memories and anxiety: Implications for learning and anxiety disorders. Biochem Pharmacol. 2015;97(4):498–511. doi:10.1016/j.bcp.2015.07.029

Nicotine: The Unknown Poison

What makes tobacco products addictive? Nicotine is a naturally occurring chemical in the tobacco plant. But aside from being addictive, nicotine is often falsely portrayed as harmless, especially by e-cigarette manufacturers. So, what’s the big deal about nicotine? Nicotine itself is a dangerous neurotoxin, even if it weren’t addictive. To start, nicotine is poisonous if ingested and is one of the most toxic of all poisons.1

In fact, even handling the plant leaves can cause health problems such as headache, nausea, vomiting, and fatigue.2 In the past, nicotine was used as an insecticide, until it was commercially banned in 2014 by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) because of its potential to contaminate agricultural products.3 It shouldn’t be a surprise that it’s harmful to humans, too.

As a highly toxic chemical, the EPA lists nicotine liquid as “acute hazardous waste.” What classifies nicotine as hazardous waste? When it is the sole active ingredient in a chemical product such as e-liquids/e-juices for e-cigarettes, cartridges and vials, then it must be disposed of according to guidelines set by the EPA.4 Poisoning from liquid nicotine can occur by ingestion, inhalation, or absorption of the product through the skin or eyes.5 As used in tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, nicotine is harmful.

It may contribute to the hardening of arteries, which could lead to a heart attack or stroke.5 Or you can just be “nic sick,” slang for nicotine poisoning, which can give you fatigue, nausea, vomiting, headaches, increased blood pressure and heart rate.6
But nicotine doesn’t just harm the body. For young people in particular, it is brain poison and can have devastating effects on the developing brains of adolescents and young people.

Research shows that as a neurotoxin, nicotine can interfere with emotion and impulse control of adolescents.7 It may even contribute to developing anxiety disorders 8 – not something anybody needs!

Don’t be fooled by the tobacco industry claim that everything bad about traditional cigarettes aren’t in e-cigarettes! They left the nicotine in. To learn more about the dangers of nicotine, visit https://www.flavorshookkids.org/

Share this Article