電子煙:煙草商引領通往成癮的門路

2020-06-23

煙草商正在大力投資電子煙,以能吸引下一代的顧客與尼古丁連結,他們更致力誤導大眾,讓大家以為如電子煙這類霧化器產品是無害的。但其實絕非事實!

首先,大多數的電子煙都含有尼古丁。事實上,單個JUUL煙彈內就含有與一包香煙同量的尼古丁或200口煙。1

使用這些產品的青少年不太可能了解他們攝入多少尼古丁。2  煙草產品中的尼古丁不但會令人上癮,尼古丁本身也是有害的,並曾因毒性太強而一度用作殺蟲藥劑。3  尼古丁對年輕人來說特別危險,因為它可以永久性危害青少年的大腦。4  此外,電子煙含有毒化學物質,對於電子煙會帶來的健康風險,我們才剛開始逐漸了解。例如,在電子煙液中所發現的化學物質可能會妨害並減弱心臟的泵血能力。5  在許多煙汁中所發現的丁二酮化學物質,與一種被俗稱為爆米花肺的危險呼吸道疾病有關。6  但電子煙所帶來的健康風險只是危害的一部分。煙草商的計劃是什麼?就是讓年輕人迷上具有誘人口味和酷炫技術的產品,以掩蓋其真正的危險。而且這個技倆正在發揮作用,讓愈來愈多原本不會使用煙草產品的孩子都在吸電子煙7,這正是高中生最常使用的煙草產品。8  千萬不要被愚弄!煙草商的唯一目標是盡可能讓更多人沉迷於致命的產品。若想了解更多詳情,請瀏覽www.FlavorsHookKids.org/Chinese若想了解關於吸電子煙疾病爆發的詳請,請瀏覽英文網站CDC.gov

參考資料 renameme

  1. Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. JUUL and Youth: rising E-Cigarette Popularity. tobaccofreekids.org. Published December 20, 2018. Accessed March 19, 2019.
  2. Willett JG, Bennett M, Hair EC, Xiao H et al. Recognition, use and perceptions of JUUL among youth and young adults. Tob Control. 2019;28(1):115-116. doi: 10.1136/tobaccocontrol-2018-054273
  3. American Chemical Society. Tobacco and its evil cousin nicotine are good as a pesticide [press release]. acs.org. Published October 27, 2010. Accessed April 16, 2019.
  4. Yuan, Menglu, Cross, Sarah J., et al. Nicotine and the adolescent brain, J Physiol. 2015 Aug 15; 593(Pt 16): 3397-3412
  5. Nystoriak MA, Kilfoil PJ, Lorkiewicz PK, Conklin DJ, Bhatnagar A. Abstract 20782: Arrhythmic Risk Evaluation of Native and Combusted Tobacco Flavor Additives in Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Cell-Derived Cardiomyocytes, Circulation. 2017;136(suppl_1)
  6. Allen JG, Flanigan SS, LeBlanc M, et al. Flavoring Chemicals in E-Cigarettes: Diacetyl, 2,3 Pentanedione, and Acetoin in a Sample of 51 Products, Including Fruit-, Candy-, and Cocktail-Flavored E-Cigarettes. Environ Health Perspect. 2015;124(6):733-9
  7. Barrington-Trimis JL, Urman R, Leventhal AM, et al. E-cigarettes, cigarettes and the prevalence of adolescent tobacco use. Pediatrics. 2016; 138(2): e201539883. Doi: 10.154/peds.2015-3983
  8. California Department of Public Health, California Tobacco Control Program. California Tobacco Fact and Figures 2018. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health; 2018.

E-cigarettes: Tobacco Industry’s Gateway to Addiction

The tobacco industry is betting big on e-cigarettes to hook its next generation of customers to nicotine, working hard to mislead people that vaping products, such as e-cigarettes, are harmless. That is just not true.

To start, most e-cigarettes contain nicotine. In fact, a single JUUL pod can contain as much nicotine as one pack of cigarettes or 200 puffs.1

It’s unlikely that the teens who are using these products, understand how much nicotine they are ingesting.2 Aside from being what makes tobacco products addictive, nicotine itself is harmful – so toxic that it was once used as an insecticide.3 Nicotine is especially dangerous for youth – it can permanently damage the teen brain.4 In addition, e-cigarettes contain toxic chemicals with health risks we are only beginning to understand. For example, chemicals found in e-liquid may impair the heart’s ability to pump blood.5 Diacetyl, a chemical found in many e-juices, is linked to a dangerous respiratory disease known as popcorn lung.6 But the health risks of e-cigarettes are just one part of the story. The tobacco industry’s plan? Get young people hooked on products with enticing flavors and cool tech that mask their real danger. And it’s working – more and more kids who wouldn’t otherwise use a tobacco product are using e-cigarettes7 – it’s the most common tobacco product used among high school students.8 Don’t be fooled – the tobacco industry’s only goal is to get as many people as possible addicted to a deadly product. To learn more visit www.flavorshookkids.org. For information about the vaping illness outbreak, visit CDC.gov.

References renameme

  1. Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. JUUL and Youth: rising E-Cigarette Popularity. tobaccofreekids.org. Published December 20, 2018. Accessed March 19, 2019.
  2. Willett JG, Bennett M, Hair EC, Xiao H et al. Recognition, use and perceptions of JUUL among youth and young adults. Tob Control. 2019;28(1):115-116. doi: 10.1136/tobaccocontrol-2018-054273
  3. American Chemical Society. Tobacco and its evil cousin nicotine are good as a pesticide [press release]. acs.org. Published October 27, 2010. Accessed April 16, 2019.
  4. Yuan, Menglu, Cross, Sarah J., et al. Nicotine and the adolescent brain, J Physiol. 2015 Aug 15; 593(Pt 16): 3397-3412
  5. Nystoriak MA, Kilfoil PJ, Lorkiewicz PK, Conklin DJ, Bhatnagar A. Abstract 20782: Arrhythmic Risk Evaluation of Native and Combusted Tobacco Flavor Additives in Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Cell-Derived Cardiomyocytes, Circulation. 2017;136(suppl_1)
  6. Allen JG, Flanigan SS, LeBlanc M, et al. Flavoring Chemicals in E-Cigarettes: Diacetyl, 2,3 Pentanedione, and Acetoin in a Sample of 51 Products, Including Fruit-, Candy-, and Cocktail-Flavored E-Cigarettes. Environ Health Perspect. 2015;124(6):733-9
  7. Barrington-Trimis JL, Urman R, Leventhal AM, et al. E-cigarettes, cigarettes and the prevalence of adolescent tobacco use. Pediatrics. 2016; 138(2): e201539883. Doi: 10.154/peds.2015-3983
  8. California Department of Public Health, California Tobacco Control Program. California Tobacco Fact and Figures 2018. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health; 2018.