電子煙的五大迷思

2020-06-23

對於電子煙、吸U盤電子煙Juul和吸蒸氣電子煙,存在著許多錯誤信息。以下是你需要了解有關這些有害產品的信息。

  1. 這些電子煙並未受到監管。電子煙製造商尚未被要求必須披露其產品中的化學物質、製造地點、製造方法或潛在的健康風險。1
  2. 這些電子煙並不安全,也並非無害。電子煙中含有害化學物質,包括一般香煙所含有的一些有毒化學物質,如尼古丁、甲醛及鉛。2 3  雖然這些有毒化學物質與一般香煙相比可能含量較低,但它們仍然有害並可能導致癌症、先天缺陷或其他健康問題。4
  3. 這些電子煙不單「只是水蒸氣」。電子煙使用者並不是吸入或呼出水蒸氣。電子煙會產生污染空氣的氣霧,5  這些氣霧是尼古丁與金屬微粒的混合物,其中包含一些與二手煙煙霧同樣有害的一些有毒化學物質。2 6
  4. 這些電子煙會令人上癮。電子煙通常含有尼古丁,而尼古丁是非常容易令人上癮的物質。各類產品中的尼古丁含量差異很大,其中最受青少年和年輕人歡迎的電子煙,看起來像就像是閃存U盤及飲水加味濃縮液。一個JUUL的煙彈含有與一包香煙等量的尼古丁或200口煙。7  許多吸煙者嘗試電子煙,是由於認為電子煙為更安全的替代品,或是認為電子煙有助戒煙,但研究卻顯示電子煙對戒煙沒有幫助。8  相反地,吸煙者最終會同時使用兩種產品,反而增加自己罹患慢性病的風險。9
  5. 這些電子煙正在吸引孩子。電子煙有超過15,500種口味、10  各式各樣的彩色包裝、科技產品外表,以及動人的廣告,因此對於孩童和青少年來說深具吸引力。電子煙及電子煙液有各種不同的糖果和水果口味,如熱愛櫻桃、棉花糖和巧克力薄荷等。數字不會說謊,從2017年到2018年的短短一年間,高中生的電子煙使用量就暴增78%,其中超過三分之二的電子煙高中生用戶特別選擇帶有口味的電子煙。11

為保護自己及摯愛家人,以下是你可以採取的步驟方法。

  1. 致電ASQ華語戒煙專線1-800-838-8917,以獲得免費的戒煙要訣,並斷除自己對於尼古丁的依賴成癮。
  2. 如果你懷疑孩子已經在吸電子煙產品,請致電毒物控制機構的英語專線1-800-222-1222
  3. 確保你的雇主執行禁止在工作場所吸電子煙的法律。
  4. 要求身邊的人不要吸電子煙。
  5. 不允許任何人在家中或車上吸電子煙。
  6. 了解更多關於口味如何吸引孩子上癮的詳情,請瀏覽FlavorsHookKids.org/Chinese

參考資料 renameme

  1. Glantz S. 9 chemicals identified so far in e-cig vapor that are on the California Prop 65 list of carcinogens and reproductive toxins [blog post]. tobacco.ucsf.edu. Published July 20, 2013. Accessed April 16, 2019.
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Nicotine: Systemic agent. cdc.gov. Page reviewed May 12, 2011. Accessed April 16, 2019.
  3. Czogala J, Goniewicz ML, Fidelus B, Zielinska-Danch W, Travers MJ, Sobczak A. Secondhand exposure to vapors from electronic cigarettes. Nicotine Tob Res. 2013;16(6):655–662. doi:10.1093/ntr/ntt203.
  4. Williams M, Villarreal A, Bozhilov K, Lin S, Talbot P. Metal and silicate particles including nanoparticles are present in electronic cigarette cartomizer fluid and aerosol. PLoS One. 2013;8(3):e57987. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0057987
  5. American Cancer Society. What do we know about e-cigarettes? cancer.org. Revised November 21, 2018. Accessed April 17, 2019.
  6. Weaver SR, Huang J, Pechacek TF, Heath JW, Ashley DL, Eriksen MP. Are electronic nicotine delivery systems helping cigarette smokers quit? Evidence from a prospective cohort study of U.S. adult smokers, 2015-2016. PLoS One. 2018;13(7):e0198047. Published 2018 Jul 9. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0198047
  7. Popova L, Ling PM. Alternative tobacco product use and smoking cessation: a national study. Am J Public Health. 2013;103(5):923–930. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2012.301070
  8. Martínez Ú, Martínez-Loredo V, Simmons VN et al. How Does Smoking and Nicotine Dependence Change after Onset of Vaping? A Retrospective Analysis of Dual Users. Nicotine Tob Res. 2019. doi: 10.1093/ntr/ntz043

Top 5 E-Cigarette Myths

There’s a lot of misinformation out there about e-cigarettes, Juuling and vaping. Here’s what you need to know about these harmful products.

  1. They are not regulated. E-cigarette manufacturers are not yet required to disclose the chemicals in their products, where they are manufactured, how they are made, or the potential health risks they pose.1
  2. They are not safe, nor harmless. E-cigarettes contain harmful chemicals, including some of the same toxic chemicals found in regular cigarettes, such as nicotine, formaldehyde, and lead.2 3 While these toxic chemicals may be at lower levels compared to regular cigarettes, they remain harmful and can cause cancer, birth defects, or other health problems. 4
  3. They are not “just water vapor.” E-cigarette users don’t inhale or exhale water vapor. E-cigarettes produce an aerosol that pollutes the air.5 The aerosol is a mixture of nicotine, tiny particles of metals, and includes some of the same harmful toxic chemicals found in secondhand cigarette smoke.2 6
  4. They are addictive. E-cigarettes typically contain nicotine, which is highly addictive. The nicotine levels vary widely among products but the most popular devices among teens and young adults look like flash drives and water enhancers. One JUUL pod can contain as much nicotine as one pack of cigarettes or 200 puffs.7 While many cigarette smokers try e-cigarettes because they think they’re a safer alternative or will help them quit, studies show that e-cigarettes do not help people quit smoking cigarettes.8 Instead, smokers end up using both products, which increases their risk for developing chronic diseases. 9
  5. They are attracting kids. With more than 15,500 flavors,10 a variety of colorful packaging, tech appeal, and engaging advertising, e-cigarettes are very appealing to kids and teens. E-cigarettes and e-liquids come in a wide variety of candy and fruit flavors, such as cherry crush, cotton candy, and chocolate mint. The numbers don’t lie. In just one year, from 2017 to 2018, there has been a seventy-eight percent increase in high school student e-cigarette use, with more than two-thirds of high school e-cigarette users choosing flavored e-cigarettes specifically.11

Below are steps you can take to protect you and your loved ones.

  1. Call 1-800-NO-VAPE for free tips to break your addiction to nicotine or visit https://www.nobutts.org/youthvaping
  2. Call poison control (1-800-222-1222) if you suspect a child has ingested an e-cigarette product.
  3. Ask others not to use e-cigarettes around you.
  4. Make sure your employer enforces the law prohibiting e-cigarette use in your workplace.
  5. Don’t allow e-cigarettes to be used in your home or car.
  6. To learn more about how flavors are hooking kids, visit www.flavorshookkids.org.

References renameme

  1. Glantz S. 9 chemicals identified so far in e-cig vapor that are on the California Prop 65 list of carcinogens and reproductive toxins [blog post]. tobacco.ucsf.edu. Published July 20, 2013. Accessed April 16, 2019.
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Nicotine: Systemic agent. cdc.gov. Page reviewed May 12, 2011. Accessed April 16, 2019.x
  3. Czogala J, Goniewicz ML, Fidelus B, Zielinska-Danch W, Travers MJ, Sobczak A. Secondhand exposure to vapors from electronic cigarettes. Nicotine Tob Res. 2013;16(6):655–662. doi:10.1093/ntr/ntt203.
  4. Williams M, Villarreal A, Bozhilov K, Lin S, Talbot P. Metal and silicate particles including nanoparticles are present in electronic cigarette cartomizer fluid and aerosol. PLoS One. 2013;8(3):e57987. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0057987
  5. American Cancer Society. What do we know about e-cigarettes? cancer.org. Revised November 21, 2018. Accessed April 17, 2019.
  6. Weaver SR, Huang J, Pechacek TF, Heath JW, Ashley DL, Eriksen MP. Are electronic nicotine delivery systems helping cigarette smokers quit? Evidence from a prospective cohort study of U.S. adult smokers, 2015-2016. PLoS One. 2018;13(7):e0198047. Published 2018 Jul 9. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0198047
  7. Popova L, Ling PM. Alternative tobacco product use and smoking cessation: a national study. Am J Public Health. 2013;103(5):923–930. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2012.301070
  8. Martínez Ú, Martínez-Loredo V, Simmons VN et al. How Does Smoking and Nicotine Dependence Change after Onset of Vaping? A Retrospective Analysis of Dual Users. Nicotine Tob Res. 2019. doi: 10.1093/ntr/ntz043